Patti Smith, Tom Morello and Ladytron support Occupy movement with massive comp

By Laura Ferreiro

Ninety-nine artists including Patti Smith, Tom Morello, Yoko Ono, Thievery Corporation, Joan Baez, Mogwai and Ladytron have donated tracks to a forthcoming compilation album titled “Occupy This Album,” which will benefit the Occupy Wall Street movement. The album is due out on May 15 by Music for Occupy through Razor & Tie distribution. According to organizers, all proceeds from sales of the album will go “directly towards the needs of sustaining the growing movement.”

The Occupy movement began in New York City’s Zuccotti Park on September 17, 2011, protesting social and economic inequality. Music for Occupy issued a statement about the compilation that says, “The music of this soundtrack is to represent the 99% through the voices of 99 artists from different genres of music, socioeconomic status, genders, and races from all over the world. Through the beauty of music, the listener gains a prospective of what millions of others throughout this world are feeling, deep within. We hope that the music you hear will inspire you to stand up and allow your voice to be heard while supporting those who already are. Be silent no longer. You have the power. You are our democracy. You are our future. Just get up, stand, smile and sing. You will be heard.”

To celebrate the release of the album, Music for Occupy will host a record release party at New York’s City Winery on May 8 featuring collaborations by artists appearing on the compilation including Nancy Griffith, Michael Moore and Immortal Technique. Tickets for the event are available here for $99 and include a special bottle of “Occupy This Wine” cabernet.

What’s more, to commemorate May Day last week, Morello — who has been an outspoken advocate for the movement — gathered thousands of guitarists he dubbed his “guitarmy” at New York City’s Bryant Park in support of the Occupy Wall Street May Day protests.

“Occupy This Album” can be pre-ordered here.

Comments are closed.